Fresh Air From The Age

“I see a harbor filled with masts and sails, wearied by the sea wind that wearies me.”

The Great American Blunder

Ive seen the institutions all over the nation,

packed with a mass of future young proffesionals.

But they dont have a Brooks Brothers wardrobe,

Or an antique ferrari.

 Yet.

Tonight a party, tomorrow the world.

Ask me if i’ve read any Oscar Wilde,

And i’ll tell you how much I love Dan Brown.

Crime and punishment means nothing to me,

For I lead a cushioned existence,

I need nothing but what I have and what I can get. 

I almost feel left out. Its almost magical.

What a state,

Of shit and power,

DUI’s and Visa.

Its no wonder CEO’s run from the law,

And spend time on farms for tax evasion or inside trading–

They were doing keg stands a few years back.

Wonder not why the many get little and the few get so much more.

You might wonder,

“what is the great American blunder?”

Well, I can’t say for sure because all I see is a decayed land,

Full of conflict, revolution,

And a spreading, uncontrolled fire rolling through towns,

through main streets,

and every Whitman dream ever imagined.

As far as I can tell,

One of our blunders was to put our children in charge.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

