Fresh Air From The Age

“I see a harbor filled with masts and sails, wearied by the sea wind that wearies me.”

I Know What Ill Do.

Ill go to the beach because I cant sleep– just a half hour drive to peace. Ive always done it; maybe 3 or 4 in the morning, id sneak out of my house and drive to Dania beach. Music my only company and the road entirely mine, id cruise past vacant parking lots, dark houses and businesses, to reach a place that gives me a sense of home. Id walk the pier, receiving casual glances from faceless fishermen.

I did it tonight– I made a call to have someone there with me and I walked through the sand to piss in the ocean. I could see my 2 cigarette butts floating in the tide from the height of the pier.

The night was mine,

with which I could do whatever I wanted.

I could cruise through Hollywood,

and remember fun nights here and there.

I could spark small talk with the lone fisherman,

and realize that theres much more to fishing that it seems.

I could realize there was much more to be seen– everywhere and in everyone.

I could shake the sand off my feet as I snuck back into my house and write about my night.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

